Tags

, , , , , ,

DSC_0188

And I went and worked!!

In Ukraine, and much of central and eastern Europe, May Day is a holiday. A holdover from Soviet times. Remember those news reels of parades with all the military splendor? They were May Day. In current times it’s still a holiday, and Sunday is Orthodox Easter as well. So I doubt I’ll have many students in my classroom tomorrow.

Of course in Britain it is Beltane. A holiday that very much pre-dates Soviet May Day. Tonight, those that celebrate Beltane still will build bonfires, and dance, and sing, and generally carry on. Babies born to mothers nine months after Beltane were considered very special, even if you may not know *exactly* who your father was. I think a rather non-judgmental idea!

One thing I’ve learned, on my sojourn to Europe, is we Americans work entirely too hard. I’ve read where some American companies have to “force” their employees to take their vacation days. Or some American employees simply lose their vacation days by not using them. Here in Europe, while they still work hard, they balance that out with vacations, holidays, time off. And they take that time off very seriously. They take their down time just as seriously as their work time.

I like that. I have learned to let go a bit more. I try to enjoy my holidays. But, then again, I’m a teacher, and that means there’s *always* more to do. So, I spent my May Day in an empty school building, and got everyone’s reading folders caught up!

What did you do for May Day?

